Zoloft

I think I'm done with pills
I think I'm done with pills

My pill demons have been exorcised.  Either that or I’m tired f embroidering pills.  I feel great about what I’ve created.  With this series, I am finally able to call myself an artist without sarcasm and self depreciation.  I am because I do.

For those of you following along at home, here is my artist’s statement. 

The Promise of Pills explores the identity of illness, the promises of drug marketing, and frustration with the current healthcare system in the US.

I use embroidery to mimic the swirling colors and visible brushstrokes of oil painting. I use dozens of colors of cotton, silk, and rayon floss on each image. I spend 30-60 hours stitching every one. The time and labor it takes to create these pieces reiterates the uphill struggle of recovery and the depth of compassion needed to conquer mental illness.

I use my background textiles to comment on my subject matter. The cheerfulness of printed fabrics echo the drugs’ promises of sunny, uncomplicated happiness while standing in sharp contrast to the reality of depression and anxiety. I occasionally use textiles pulled from my daily life–scrub smocks, kitchen linens, bedding, and my daughter’s clothing–to show how much of a person’s life is affected by illness.

I want to bring beauty and individuality to the stern geometry of pills. I want to blur their rigid, clinical lines. With the warmth and softness of fiber, I am giving humanity to medical diagnoses and their chemical solutions.

3 thoughts on “Zoloft

  1. Beautiful in so many ways! I identify with so much of what you write here… misdiagnosis, meds, abortion at a young age and express through craft. I’ll definitely be following your posts! 🙂

  2. WOW! I just came across this blog via Craft Gossip and I’m blown away. What an amazing space you have here. And what an amazing service and support to people. I’m in awe.

Leave a Reply

