Pretend I blocked this

I sewed a hand grenade for you.
I sewed a hand grenade for you.

I have been a bit lost since I finished my Promise of Pills series.  It didn’t help that we moved across the country to a place I didn’t want to go.  (The Air Force gave us orders to England and cancelled them.  They replaced England with Oklahoma–I cried for 3 days.)  The truth of my life right now is that the military has a tremendous influence on my happiness.  I didn’t enlist, but my job, my children, my depression, my address, my almost-everything is dictated by the US Armed Forces.  My truest art comes from this experience. 

Every time I stitch a military-themed picture, I’m taking back my control.  I’m trying to claim my own honor and dignity for the sacrifices I make.  I don’t get medals for campaigns, but I live my life to help David achieve his.  I do this gladly, but I’m frickin’ ready to sew my own damn badge of honor!

Anyway, please pretend I mounted this on the canvas and that I took a decent picture of it.  I’ve got a lot of stitching to do right now and I can’t wait to share it.  My newest joy is hand spinning my own wool floss. 

hand grenade embroidered with cotton and wool
hand grenade embroidered with cotton and wool
One thought on “Pretend I blocked this

  1. I’m a spinner too and I’ve wondered about spinning for embroidery. What number of plies do you use? Any tips or tricks to share? Thanks! Love the hand grenade!

Leave a Reply

