Bang

hand spun and dyed wool on a Martha Stewart K-Mart tea towel
hand spun and dyed wool on a Martha Stewart K-Mart tea towel
I’ve embroidered the M-9 before.  It’s the gun strapped to my husband’s thigh while he works.  What I mean to do with wool stitches is to soften, blur, conquer, control, and understand. 
 
Side view of texture
All of the floss for this project was hand spun on a spinning wheel and dyed with acid dyes.  I wanted to control the texture and color of each part of this gun. 
 
nose
 
I created this gun from nothing more than cloth and fiber.  I gave it shape and texture.  I have disarmed some of my fear and frustration.
 
always clean your gun
Now I’ll bathe it like a baby and put it to bed.
 
2 thoughts on “Bang

  1. I love your gun and the grenade and everything else I’ve seen that you’ve done. It’s all so original and your yarn is just beautiful. I obsessively make stuff to ward off depression, but I am no artist like you. I grew up in Oklahoma & Kansas, but I would not want to go back.

Leave a Reply

