You can play along at home

I thought I’d post a bit about what steps I take to finish an embroidery.  The first step is the idea, of course.  A good idea will keep me up way past my bedtime. 

process 001

Then I sketch.  For something inorganic (like guns, pills, other objects) I sketch directly onto tracing paper.  If you were stitching a portrait, you might need a few sketches to get your lines right.

process 003  

Then I trace the lines on the back of the paper with an iron-on transfer pencil.  (Remember that the image will reverse.)  I have no problems with ironing on transfers because my lines are always bold and chunky and permanent marks will certainly be covered.   Any time I use a chalk transfer, I lose and smear my lines.  Yuck.

process 004

Then I either choose floss colors to make a palette, or I spin from a pile of wool, blending the fibers like paints.  (My favorite!)

Want to play along at home?  I’ll give away a set of handspun embroidery yarn to a random lucky reader.  I’m also including a copy of The New Crewel.  I really want to give the embroidery bug to someone.

How to win?  Leave a comment below before I post again.  Make sure that I can contact you some way.   I will choose a winner at random.

6 thoughts on “You can play along at home

  1. the chance to win spun yarn from you??? i’m into it like a train! spin on sister!! as always, loving your work/spirit.

  2. I’ve been liking using the disappearing pen (I think its Singer) that has a medium tip at one end and a fine tip at the other. It stays on for quite awhile and can be reinforced if it starts to fade. I’m just starting to learn stitches besides the chain, satin and split stitch. Thanks for offering this.

  3. Right on! I so want in on the handspun goodness. I’m wondering if you find that it bleeds when/if you wash your finished piece?

    Now I’m using a clover marking pen, which works pretty well, especially on dark fabrics (it’s white). I’ve never had success with the transfer pencils (maybe I need a hotter iron?) I love using the Sulky fabric-solvy but it’s fairly hard to come by up here – so easy to work with.

  4. OooOooOoo! Pick me! I’m so curious about your handspun enbroidery yarn! I love wool to embroider on but have only embroidered with cotton thread. So many possabilities!

  5. I’m constantly blown away how you’re able to create gorgeous things from absolute scratch – spinning & dyeing your own threads, weaving your own cloth, designing your own motifs, etc. Your artistic skillz amaze me.

Leave a Reply

