AK47

Mikhail Kalashnikov invented the AK47.   His butterfly wings flapped on the other side of the planet and the ripples affected my life.  (And yours.)

There are so many men in uniforms around the world who have influenced my life.   I’m really enjoying embroidering these military portraits.  I’m doing Norman Schwarzkopf next, followed by my friend Josh.

I’ve had some questions about what the military means to me and why it’s such an influence in my art.  My best answer is on the DonkeyWolf Blog.  Penny interviewed me last week.  Another answer is that so much of my life is left in the hands of patriarchs that I’ll never meet.  They decide where I live, when I see my husband, which doctor I see, how many bedrooms I can have in my home, when to cut the grass, etc.  A lot of people don’t realize how much of a life commitment it is to be a military spouse.  When was the last time you were locked down in the local grocery store?  Have you ever had to show ID to get on the road to your house?  It’s a huge part of my life and I didn’t directly sign up for it.  It’s still a strange concept to me.

4 thoughts on “AK47

Leave a Reply

