Stormin Norman 50%



Stormin Norman 50%, originally uploaded by alexcateye.

He still needs clothes, but I have the likeness I wanted. I’m not going for realism. I want my stitchy interpretation.

I’ve been trying to bring more evidence of my medium to my work. I know that a lot of people think I’m showing paintings when they see thumbnails. While stitching the clothing for this portrait, I’ll be doing more of the fancy schmancy needle tricks that set embroidery apart from other art forms. I’m really excited about this.

Anybody have a favorite fill stitch you’d like to share? Please tell me about it in the comments.

4 thoughts on “Stormin Norman 50%

  1. a lot of needlepoint stitches translate well for clothing. i like cashmere stitch, bargellos, mosaic, etc. i’ll send you a picture of the law and order wip so you can see what i did for the coats.
    i don’t think it’s too brown, btw. who knows how many will be in the series or what colors they’ll be. no judging.
    x

  2. I like it. He has a very tenacious expression, like a bulldog I like how you’ve built the shadows up with lots of muted color. Some stitches I like are french knot, bullion and couching because they had another dimension of texture.

    Also had a question for you. I notice you’ve been very productive lately. Any tips? I have lots of ideas and have gotten as far as sketching but no farther lately.

    I tried to send this earlier but I don’t think it went through so I hope I’m not accidentally sending it twice.

    • My only advice for productivity is that I’m so busy I don’t have time to think. It doesn’t make sense, I know. I’m taking an accelerated nursing class, so when I give myself an hour or so to stitch, I appreciate it and attack my project with enthusiasm.

      Thanks for your comment. I’ve always thought of Norman Schwartzkopf as a bulldog.

  3. i love how the direction of your stitches creates his expression. it’s incredible. i don’t have any favorite fancy stitches so i’m excited to see what you do with his clothes.

    i was going to ask about your productivity too since i am so slow.

Leave a Reply

