Papa Badger’s New Stripe

My husband is getting promoted August 1st.  I’m pretty excited about it.  I’ve been getting ready for the ceremony.  We’re also looking at houses.  Our VA loan came through and I have my eye on a 4 bedroom on a corner lot with a fireplace. 

I love Sgt. Walters.

I know that this blog uses a lot of emotions–most of them painful.  I want to make it clear that my life is full of joy.   I’m tired of keeping my happiness a secret because I’m afraid to hurt the feelings of someone who is miserable.  I’ve done that for too long.

So many good things have been happening.  I’m in nursing school.  My husband is getting a brand new stripe on his arms.  We are buying one of three beautiful houses.  I am getting close to seeing the end of 20 years of medical problems.  I’m off Prozac.  I’ve lost 25 lbs since my birthday.  I’m training to run a 5K in November.  I have the most beautiful, smart, and hilarious second grader.  My husband loves me more now than he did when we got married.  I have two of the best dogs on the damn planet.  Life is really good.

Art works.  It’s the best form of therapy in the universe.  I am a whole person.  My past doesn’t hurt.  I embrace my mistakes for making me Alexandra.

Blah, blah, blah…whatever.  I hope you readers are doing well, too!

11 thoughts on “Papa Badger’s New Stripe

  1. Own your happiness! I struggle with that sometimes, too, because my life is more or less even-keeled and when the boat tips, it usually tips in favor of happiness which seems to frustrate other people. But that’s not my fault. I always say that if you don’t like something, change it. Whether it’s your job, your situation, your friends, your hairstyle – whatever. I am extremely sympathetic (and probably too empathetic for my own good) but I can only tolerate so much whining from people who remind me of Ned Flanders’s (Simpsons) beatnik parents (it’s a weird reference, but hang in there) who said “we tried nothing and we’re all out of ideas.”

    And if you’re one of those people who didn’t like what they saw and made a change – a new career, education, lost weight, took up sports – it’s hard for other people to be happy for you (because they want you to stay stagnant and unhappy with them ~ misery loves company). BUT NOT ME! I am *super* happy for you! 😀 You deserve good things! So go enjoy ’em!

    • You are the best, Giddy! I try to share my negative emotions as a help to other people. I like having a place where we can all let it out.

      I’ve just ended a friendship that made me feel guilty for every scrap of happiness I’ve ever had. It feels so good to let my happy side show sometimes.

Leave a Reply

