She must be a narcissist.



waiting room WIP, originally uploaded by alexcateye.

This self portrait is about 50% done. You can see how I build my colors if you click through and view the larger size. Part of the reason that I work so slowly is that every piece is embroidered in layers. Some parts are stitched 5 or 6 times to get the effect I want. My pieces are very thick, up to a half of a centimeter in places. It just feels “right” to me.

I didn’t really want to do another self portrait. It feels dirty, like art masturbation. I need to do this, though. I am trying so hard to love the face I’ve been given. I’m trying to love the body I’ve hated all of my life. I’m finding beauty that I didn’t know I had and it has nothing to do with my looks. It’s a wonderful experience.

We just closed on a new house and I’ve started school, so blog posts will be a little slower for a while. My husband seems to think that packing and studying are more important than embroidery.

Don’t forget to add your work to my blog Flickr pool. (http://www.flickr.com/groups/1396676@N24/pool/) I’ll be blogging about my stitchy friends even when I don’t have time to finish projects of my own.

9 thoughts on “She must be a narcissist.

  1. This is just gorgeous! I finally looked at it from home where I can see the pictures – gorgeous work! I love the repurposed pocket insides. I wonder always what your husband has to say about your work.

    Thank you for your comment on my blog about water. I like your idea of having fancy water cocktails – how much fun could that be! I didn’t want to tell you, no floss yet. Not sure what is going on there. I imagine some surly old postal worker is hoarding it int he back room to do cross stitch samplers on his break. or maybe it is a customs worker. Who knows.

  2. Hey, you know the funniest thing – just hours after I posted that comment your threads came in the mail!! They are absolutely so much more gorgeous than I ever expected! The colors are so vibrant and deep. I can’t wait to start stitching. I think this calls for a special project just for me.

    And I take back any comments I may have made about postal service workers…

  3. I love to see this in progress version of your work. Your other pieces have astounded me and I hadn’t a clue how they were done. This gives a glimpse into the skill. I’ll miss your posts while you’re away, but look forward to them when they return.

    • Thank you! I’ll still post when I can. I love being able to talk about my stitchy friends in my blog. Feel free to join the Flickr group if you’d like to share.

  4. Just wanted to say Hi and I love what you are doing. I picked up a needle and thread finally the other day and taught myself chain stitch. I’ll be reading more of your blog over the next month, as I have recently decided that self creation is something that is missing from my life right now. You are an inspiration on finding a way to do it on your own terms.

  5. I found your work through Hoopla and think your embroidered faces are quite lovely. Is this your only web presence or do you have another website? I have an interesting site FigurativeArtist.org that features many fine textile artists working with the human form and would love to include your work there but am not quite sure this blog format fits in. Good luck with your work and keep me on your mailing list if you have one for your embroidered portraits.

Leave a Reply

